Key Stages

The National Curriculum for England is organised on “Key Stages”. At the end of each key stage, children’s performance is formally assessed to measure their progress

The British Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘Key Stages’ (KS). Every Key Stage sets standards for the learning, development and achievement of the students at a particular age or grade level.

The curriculum comprises the essential knowledge students need to become educated citizens and also other exciting and stimulating experiences which promote the spiritual, moral, cultural and physical development of pupils at the school.

Because BSB School strive to get the best out of each of our students, The BSB School curriculum is carefully planned in order to set targets which are deliberately ambitious for every pupil. The British School of Barcelona make every effort to stretch work for pupils whose attainment is significantly above the expected standard, and we use appropriate assessment for pupils who have lower levels of prior attainment.

From Key Stage 4 onwards we prepare our students for the (I)GCSE and A Level qualifications offered by Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) and Edexcel examination boards.

In addition, the BSB School students are able to qualify for the Spanish Certificate of Secondary Education (ESO) and the Spanish Baccalaureate (Bachillerato).

Structure of the National Curriculum for England

AgeYearKey StageAssessment
3 to 4NurseryEYFSn/a
4 to 5ReceptionEYFSn/a
5 to 6Year 1KS1n/a
6 to 7Year 2KS1n/a
7 to 8Year 3KS2n/a
8 to 9Year 4KS2n/a
9 to 10Year 5KS2n/a
10 to 11Year 6KS2n/a
11 to 12Year 7KS3n/a
12 to 13Year 8KS3n/a
13 to 14Year 9KS3n/a
14 to 15Year 10KS4(I)GCSE qualifications
15 to 16Year 11KS4(I)GCSE qualifications
15 to 16Year 12International Pre-UniversityAS + A Levels + IBDP
16 to 17Year 13International Pre-UniversityAS + A Levels + IBDP

EYFS: Early Years Foundation Stage

KS: Key Stage