Pre-University Education

Pre-University education is for students aged 16 to 18 (Years 12 and 13)

Pre-University Education

Our offer and programme are designed to ensure students achieve the very best examination results they can, while having opportunities and support to prepare them for life beyond school – for the best university courses, for jobs that have not yet been thought of, for a successful and happy life in an ever changing world.

Every year our students take up places on courses at exceptional universities in the UK, Spain and around the world. The vast majority of our graduate students go to their first-choice university. (Read more)


Our Offer


Advanced Level Examinations (A Levels)

A Levels are the standard entry qualification for British, Spanish and other prestigious universities across the globe. Students are required to study a minimum of three A Levels, with very few restrictions on which subjects can be taken. Entrance to university depends largely upon attaining good grades at A Level together with results already achieved at (I)GCSE.


International Baccalaureate® (IB) Diploma Programme (DP)

The IBDP is recognised and respected by the world’s leading universities. The curriculum is made up of the DP core and six subject groups. The DP core comprises Theory of Knowledge (TOK), Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) and an extended essay. There are different courses within each subject group, which students must choose from.


Foundation Programme

A One Year Course to enable students to join us for post-16 education, regardless of the education system they are moving from, but subject to a reasonable level of English and a positive motivated attitude to learning. The course includes a core (I)GCSE package and up to two (I)GCSE courses on the main Castelldefels campus. On successful completion, students may choose an A Level or IBDP pathway to complete a further two years at BSB.


Spanish Qualifications
Our Pre-University curriculum also ensures that students can fulfil the requirements of the Spanish and Catalan Governments so that they can achieve the Spanish Bachillerato qualification, if they complete the relevant courses and assessments throughout Years 12 and 13.


Core Programme
All students as part of the Pre-University programme are given opportunities to gain experience and qualifications in: sports and outdoor education (International Award), creative and expressive arts, life and independence skills, personal and social skills, community work and work experience.


Careers and Futures Guidance
We provide a comprehensive career-oriented programme to guide, counsel, refer and ultimately help students refine their choices and make informed decisions for their future. This includes our annual University Fairs, the successful speed mentoring forum with parents and many presentations from prestigious universities/colleges from around the world in school.


Each student is encouraged to bring in their own laptop/tablet, which is used as to support many lessons and independent study and research.